Surrey Championship T20 Entry Confirmed

Part of the League Rep’s job is to make sure we’re entered for the Surrey Championship T20 competition. Surrey are one of the participating counties in this national tournament that, if the county winners are successful, they go into the regional rounds leading to a possible finals day at a First Class County Ground televised on Sky Sports. Last year our friends and neighbours from Ashtead made it to the final; John Vaughan-Davies, (Stoke groundsman who has also played the odd game for us to show us how well our square plays!), scooped the man-of-the-match award in the semi-final.

Adrian Mills has made sure our number will be in the velvet bag for 2016. The draw will be announced soon.

Will we repeat our run to the Surrey final that we had in 2009? Will we find new and unusual ways to win through ties without bowling a ball?

Here are our previous results in the competition. We have used 38 different players, (tagged in this post), in these matches…

1st Round v Weybridge (Premier Division Opposition)
Won by 1 run :

2nd Round v Ashford (Division 3 but Reigning Surrey Champions)
Won by 39 runs :

3rd Round v East Molesey
Won by 3 runs :

Quarter Final v Cobham Avorians (Premier)
Won by 3 wickets :

Semi-Final v Pyrford at Normandy CC (Won Division 1 that season)
Won by 3 wickets :

Final v Reigate Priory at Normandy CC (Premier)
Lost by 61 runs :
Note of the opposition opening bats!

1st Round away to Sunbury (Premier)
Lost by 10 runs :

1st Round v Godalming (Division 5)
Won by 71 runs :

2nd Round away to Malden Wanderers (Division 1)
Won on Coin Toss
Heavy rain on each of the three dates we tried to play the game.

Quarter-Final v Ashford (Division 2)
Lost by 4 wickets :

1st Round away to Weybridge (Premier)
Won on a bowl-out

2nd Round away to Old Hamptonians (Division 4)
Lost by 4 wickets :

1st Round v Camberley (Division 1)
Lost by 44 runs :

1st Round v Chertsey (Division 5)
Won by 35 runs :

2nd Round v Staines & Laleham (Division 4)
Lost by 5 runs :

1st Round away to Kingstonian (Division 4)
Lost by 3 wickets :
Kingstonian went on to the final last season